Personal tools
You are here: Home / News / Best ITQB NOVA PhD Thesis 2017

Best ITQB NOVA PhD Thesis 2017

Filed under: ,
Best Thesis Prize awarded to Saúl Silva

Oeiras, 9.01.2019

And the Best PhD Thesis Prize 2017 goes to… Saúl Silva.

The public announcement was made today by the president of the jury Cândido Pinto Ricardo, during the celebration of the ITQB NOVA Day - 25 years celebration. The award, sponsored by Fundação Jacqueline Dias de Sousa, was handed out by the president of the jury and João Dias de Sousa.

Saúl Dias presented his PhD at ITQB NOVA in October 2017 with the thesis “Aziridines and their asymmetric conversion to bioactive compounds: Approaches to Terpestacin, Oseltamivir and analogues”. The work was developed at Organic Synthesis Lab under the supervision of Christopher  Maycock and was also awarded Best PhD Thesis in Organic Chemistry 2017 by Portuguese Chemical Society (SPQ).

The award, established in 2009, aims to recognize the best PhD thesis presented at ITQB NOVA each year and is funded by Fundação Jacqueline Dias de Sousa. The selection panel includes Carlos Bandeira Duarte from Universidade de Coimbra, Mário Nuno Berberan e Santos from Universidade Técnica de Lisboa, and is chaired by Cândido Pinto Ricardo from ITQB NOVA.

Document Actions