Personal tools
You are here: Home / Labs / Animal Cell Technology Unit / Members

Group Members

Unit Director

Paula Alves

Paula M. Alves, PhD

Principal Investigator ITQB NOVA and Invited Associate Professor FCT-UNL

PhD in Biochemical Engineering

marques@itqb.unl.pt

(CV)

Laboratory Heads

Cell Bioprocesses Laboratory

Engineering Cellular Applications Laboratory

Paula Alves

Paula M. Alves, PhD

Principal Investigator ITQB NOVA and Invited Associate Professor FCT-UNL

PhD in Biochemical Engineering

marques@itqb.unl.pt

(CV)

Manuel Carrondo

Manuel J. T. Carrondo, PhD

Professor ITQB NOVA/iBET/FCT-UNL

PhD in Environmental Engineering

mjtc@itqb.unl.pt

(CV)

Cell Line Development and Molecular Biotechnology Laboratory

Advanced Cell Models Laboratory

Ana Sofia Coroadinha

Ana Sofia Coroadinha, PhD

Principal Investigator

PhD in Chemical Engineering

avalente@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Brito

Catarina Brito, PhD

Principal Investigator 

PhD in Biochemistry

anabrito@itqb.unl.pt

Downstream Process Development Laboratory

Stem Cell Bioengineering Laboratory

Cristina Peixoto

Cristina Peixoto, PhD

PhD in Engineering and Technology Sciences

peixoto@itqb.unl.pt

Margarida Serra

Margarida Serra, PhD

PhD in Engineering and Technology Sciences

mserra@itqb.unl.pt

Vaccine Development Laboratory

   
António Roldão

António Roldão, PhD

PhD in Engineering and Technology Sciences

aroldao@itqb.unl.pt

   

Senior Scientists

Patrícia Gomes-Alves

Patrícia Gomes-Alves, PhD

PhD in Biology

palves@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Isidro

Inês Isidro, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering Systems; MIT Portugal

iaisidro@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Filipa Rodrigues

Ana Filipa Rodrigues, PhD

PhD in Engineering Sciences and Technology; ITQB NOVA

anafr@itqb.unl.pt

Lara Silva

Lara Silva, PhD

PhD in Biomedicine; Faculdade de Medicina, Universidade do Porto

lara.silva@itqb.unl.pt

Ricardo Silva

Ricardo Silva, PhD

PhD in Biochemical Engineering; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

rsilva@itqb.unl.pt

Jose Escandell

Jose Escandell, PhD

PhD in Pharmacology; University of Valencia

jose.escandell@itqb.unl.pt

Lab Management

Miguel R. Guerreiro

Miguel R. Guerreiro, PhD

PhD in Engineering Sciences and Technology, Biotechnology; ITQB NOVA

mguerreiro@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Raposo

Ana Raposo, MSc

MSc in Chemistry; IST-UTL, Lisboa

araposo@itqb.unl.pt

Scientists and Post-Doc Research Fellows

Tiago Faria

Tiago Faria, PhD

PhD in Biochemistry; ITQB NOVA

tfaria@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Sofia Fernandes

Ana Sofia Fernandes, PhD

PhD in Pharmacy; Faculdade de Farmácia, Universidade de Lisboa

as.fernandes@itqb.unl.pt

Marta Paiva

Marta Paiva, PhD

PhD in Celular Biology; Universidade de Coimbra

mpaiva@itqb.unl.pt

Giacomo Domenici

Giacomo Domenici, PhD

PhD in Molecular Biology and Biomedicine; University of Basque Country/CICbioGUNE

giacomo.domenici@itqb.unl.pt

Henrique Almeida

Henrique Almeida, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering; Trinity College Dublin

henrique.almeida@itqb.unl.pt

Marta Silva

Marta Silva, PhD

PhD in Engineering and Technology Sciences, Biomedical Engineering; ITQB NOVA

marta.silva@itqb.unl.pt

Daniela Nobre Salvador

Daniela Nobre Salvador, PhD

PhD in Oncology and Cancer Biology; University of Dundee

daniela.salvador@itqb.unl.pt

Mafalda Moleirinho

Mafalda Moleirinho, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering; ITQB NOVA

mmoleirinho@itqb.unl.pt

Hélio Tomás

Hélio Tomás, PhD

PhD in Engineering Sciences and Technology, Biotechnology; ITQB NOVA

heliotomas@itqb.unl.pt

Marta Costa

Marta Costa, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering Systems, MIT Portugal, IST-UTL, Lisboa

marta.costa@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Oliveira

Ana Oliveira, PhD

PhD in Engineering Sciences and Technology, Biotechnology; ITQB NOVA

aoliveira@itqb.unl.pt

   

 Research Technicians

Ana Isabel Almeida

Ana Isabel Almeida, MSc

MSc in Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

anaa@itqb.unl.pt

Rita Santana

Rita Santana, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; Universidade de Évora

santana@itqb.unl.pt

Adriana Botnaru

Adriana Botnaru, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology, FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

adriana.botnaru@itqb.unl.pt

Paulo Galrão

Paulo Galrão, MSc

MSc in Bioengineering; IST-UTL, Lisboa

paulo.galrao@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Prada

Ana Prada

MSc in Molecular Biology and Genetics, FCUL, Lisboa

ana.prada@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Macieira

Inês Macieira

MSc in Biochemistry for Health, FCT-FCM, UNL, Lisboa

ines.macieira@itqb.unl.pt

PhD Students

Francisca Arez

Francisca Arez, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry; FCUL, Universidade de Lisboa

(Novel Cell-based Platform for Drug Screening Targeting Plasmodium Hepatic Infection)

farez@itqb.unl.pt

Teresa Mendes

Teresa Mendes, MSc

MSc in Molecular Biology and Genetics; FCUL, Universidade de Lisboa

(Colorectal cancer modelling to unravel the link between carcinogenesis, microenvironment and therapeutic response)

mtmendes@itqb.unl.pt

Ricardo Correia

Ricardo Correia, MSc

MSc in Biological Engineering; IST-UTL, Lisboa

(Bioprocess engineering of an “universal” influenza VLP-based vaccine )

rccorreia@itqb.unl.pt

Maria Raquel Moita

Maria Raquel Moita, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; IST-UTL, Lisboa

(Phenotypic screenings for identification of breast cancer associated antigens using phage display technology)

mraquelmoita@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Sofia Moreira

Ana Sofia Moreira, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry; FCT, Universidade de Coimbra

(Accelerating Lentivirus manufacturing: an engineering driven approach)

amoreira@itqb.unl.pt

João Mendes

João Mendes, MSc

MSc in Chemistry and Biochemisry Engineering; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

(Integrated continuous manufacturing of adeno-associated virus)

jmendes@itqb.unl.pt

Bárbara Fernandes

Bárbara Fernandes, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

(Bioprocess Engineering of Insect Cells for Accelerating Vaccines Development)

bfernandes@itqb.unl.pt

Sofia Batalha

Sofia Batalha, MSc

MSc in Molecular Biology and Genetics; FCUL, Universidade de Lisboa

(The effect of dual HER2 blockade on anti-tumour immune cells)

sofia.batalha@itqb.unl.pt

Joana Almeida

Joana Almeida, MSc

MSc in Metabolic Diseases and Food Behaviour; Faculdade de Medicina, Universidade de Lisboa

(Generation of highly functional hPSC-derived hepatocytes for cellular therapies and bioengineered livers: the unknown role of human intestinal microbiome)

joana.almeida@itqb.unl.pt

Rita Mendes

Rita Mendes, MSc

MSc in Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

(Precision medicine platform using patient-derived cancer cell models to predict drug efficacy)

rita.mendes@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Filipa Louro

Ana Filipa Louro, MSc

MSc in Pharmaceutical Sciences; Faculdade de Farmácia, Universidade de Lisboa

(Extracellular Matrix-Derived Constructs to Bioengineer Cardiac Microtissues)

filipa.louro@itqb.unl.pt

Tiago Vaz

Tiago Vaz, MSc

MSc in Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine, FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

(High titer lentiviral vector producer cell lines based on replicative transposition)

tiago.vaz@itqb.unl.pt

Pedro Vicente

Pedro Vicente, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

(Bioprocess Engineering of a human 3D Cell Model for Primary Hyperoxaluria Type 1)

pvicente@itqb.unl.pt

Nikolaus Virgolini

Nikolaus Virgolini, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna

(Combining single-cell analysis with systems biology to fine-tune production of rAAV vectors in insect cells)

nikolaus.virgolini@itqb.unl.pt

Marco Silvano

Marco Silvano, MSc

MSc in Medical, Cellular and Molecular Biotechnology; Università Vita-Salute San Raffaele, Milano

(Improving production of Influenza VLP-based vaccines in insect cells using single-cell analysis)

marco.silvano@itqb.unl.pt

Nuno Lopes

Nuno Lopes, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

“GLYCOInteract: defining triple negative breast cancer glycan signatures for targeting tumour-associated macrophages”

nlopes@itqb.unl.pt

Rita Fernandes

Rita Fernandes, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry, FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

“An engineering-driven approach for purification of enveloped virus-based biotherapeutics”

rita.fernandes@itqb.unl.pt

Rodrigo Nogueira

Rodrigo Nogueira, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

“Novel packaging systems with abolished cytotoxicity: development of high-titer lentiviral vector producer cells”

rodrigo.nogueira@itqb.unl.pt

Maria Margarida Rodrigues

Maria Margarida Rodrigues, MSc

MSc in Biological Engineering, IST, Universidade de Lisboa

“Bioprocess engineering of ferritin-based nanoparticles as SARS-CoV-2 vaccine candidates”

maria.rodrigues@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Gomes

Catarina Gomes, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Engineering; ESTS-IPS, Setúbal

"Human stem-cell based models to study innate immunity and neuroinflammation in the central nervous system"

catarina.gomes@itqb.unl.pt

Cláudia Diniz

Cláudia Diniz, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Engineering; IST, Universidade de Lisboa

"Bioengineering of hiPSC-cardiac derivatives for the development of a personalized regenerative biological ventricular assist device"

claudia.diniz@itqb.unl.pt

Mariana Ferreira

Mariana Ferreira, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

"Novel dual AAV vector platforms for large transgene delivery: enabling Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy gene therapies"

mariana.ferreira@itqb.unl.pt

Junior Research Fellows

Joana Oliveira

Joana Oliveira, MSc

MSc in Biopharmaceutical Sciences; Faculdade de Farmácia, Universidade de Lisboa

joana.oliveira@itqb.unl.pt

Beatriz Paínho

Beatriz Painho

MSc in Biology, FCUL, Lisboa

beatriz.painho@itqb.unl.pt

Carolina Matos

Carolina Matos, MSc

MSc in Molecular Biomedicine, University of Aveiro

carolina.matos@itqb.unl.pt

Maria Fonseca

Maria Fonseca, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; FCT, Universidade do Algarve

maria.fonseca@itqb.unl.pt

Elisa Cabral, MSc

MSc in Applied Chemistry; FCT-UNL, Costa da Caparica

elisa.cabral@itqb.unl.pt

Isabella Gal

Isabella Ramella Gal, MSc

MSc in Pharmaceutical Biotechnology, University of Bologna

isabella.gal@itqb.unl.pt

Cristina Rosa

Cristina Rosa, MSc

MSc in Engineering Physics; IST, Universidade de Lisboa

cristina.rosa@itqb.unl.pt

Beatriz Gamelas

Beatriz Gamelas, MSc

MSc in Biological Engineering; IST, Universidade de Lisboa

beatriz.gamelas@itqb.unl.pt

Gonçalo Trindade

Gonçalo Trindade, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry for Health; FCT, ITQB NOVA and FCM

goncalo.trindade@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Carrondo

Inês Carrondo, MSc

MSc in Aerospace Engineering; IST, Universidade de Lisboa

ines.carrondo@itqb.unl.pt

Miguel Antunes

Miguel Antunes, MSC

MSc in Aerospace Engineering; IST, Universidade de Lisboa

miguel.antunes@itqb.unl.pt

Joana Gaspar Diogo

Joana Diogo, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology, IST-UTL, Lisboa

joana.diogo@itqb.unl.pt

Maria João Carreiro

Maria João Carreiro, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology, FCT-UNL, Lisboa

maria.carreiro@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Raquel Fernandes

Ana Raquel Fernandes, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry for Health; FCT, ITQB NOVA and FCM

ana.fernandes@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Perdigão

Catarina Perdigão, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology, IST-UTL, Lisboa

"The impact of the genetic risk factor BIN1 to Alzheimer’s disease development"

cperdigao@itqb.unl.pt

   

Master Students

Filipa Moura

Filipa Moura

Degree in Molecular and Cellular Biology, FCT-UNL, Lisboa

filipa.moura@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Meliciano

Ana Meliciano

Degree in Biochemistry, FCUL, Lisboa

ana.meliciano@itqb.unl.pt

Francisco Ferraz

Fransisco Ferraz

Degree in Biochemistry, FCT-UNL, Lisboa

francisco.feraz@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Crespo

Inês Crespo

Degree in Biotechnology, IST-UTL, Lisboa

ines.crespo@itqb.unl.pt

Lavinia Cigalotto

Lavinia Cigalotto

Degree in Industrial Biotechnology, University of Padova

lavinia.cigalotto@itqb.unl.pt

Leandra Rodrigues

Leandra Rodrigues

Degree in Biotechnology; FCT-UNL, Lisboa

leandra.rodrigues@itqb.unl.pt

Margarida Costa

Margarida Costa

Degree in Biomedical Engineering; IST, Universidade de Lisboa

margarida.costa@itqb.unl.pt

Mariana Vinagre

Mariana Vinagre

BSc degree in Biochemistry, FCT-NOVA, Nova University

mariana.vinagre@itqb.unl.pt

Document Actions