Personal tools
You are here: Home / Labs / Animal Cell Technology Unit / Members

Group Members

Unit Director

Paula Alves

Paula M. Alves, PhD

Principal Investigator ITQB NOVA and Invited Associate Professor NOVA School of Science and Technology

PhD in Biochemical Engineering

marques@itqb.unl.pt

(CV)

Laboratory Heads

Cell Bioprocesses Laboratory

Engineering Cellular Applications Laboratory

Paula Alves

Paula M. Alves, PhD

Principal Investigator ITQB NOVA and Invited Associate Professor NOVA School of Science and Technology

PhD in Biochemical Engineering

marques@itqb.unl.pt

(CV)

Manuel Carrondo

Manuel J. T. Carrondo, PhD

Professor ITQB NOVA/iBET/NOVA School of Science and Technology

PhD in Environmental Engineering

mjtc@itqb.unl.pt

(CV)

Cell Line Development and Molecular Biotechnology Laboratory

Advanced Cell Models Laboratory

Ana Sofia Coroadinha

Ana Sofia Coroadinha, PhD

Principal Investigator

PhD in Chemical Engineering

avalente@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Brito

Catarina Brito, PhD

Principal Investigator 

PhD in Biochemistry

anabrito@itqb.unl.pt

Downstream Process Development Laboratory

Stem Cell Bioengineering Laboratory

Cristina Peixoto

Cristina Peixoto, PhD

PhD in Engineering and Technology Sciences

peixoto@itqb.unl.pt

Margarida Serra

Margarida Serra, PhD

PhD in Engineering and Technology Sciences

mserra@itqb.unl.pt

Cell-Based Vaccines Development Laboratory

   
António Roldão

António Roldão, PhD

PhD in Engineering and Technology Sciences

aroldao@itqb.unl.pt

   

Senior Scientists

Patrícia Gomes-Alves

Patrícia Gomes-Alves, PhD

PhD in Biology

palves@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Isidro

Inês Isidro, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering Systems

iaisidro@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Filipa Rodrigues

Ana Filipa Rodrigues, PhD

PhD in Engineering Sciences and Technology

anafr@itqb.unl.pt

Lara Silva

Lara Silva, PhD

PhD in Biomedicine

lara.silva@itqb.unl.pt

Ricardo Silva

Ricardo Silva, PhD

PhD in Biochemical Engineering

rsilva@itqb.unl.pt

Jose Escandell

Jose Escandell, PhD

PhD in Pharmacology

jose.escandell@itqb.unl.pt

Gabriela Silva, PhD

PhD in Biology

gabrielasilva@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Freitas, PhD

PhD in Developmental Biology

catarina.freitas@itqb.unl.pt

Nádia Duarte, PhD

PhD in Medical Genetics

nadia.duarte@itqb.unl.pt

Marta Costa

Marta Costa, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering Systems; MIT Portugal, IST, University of Lisbon

marta.costa@itqb.unl.pt

Lab Management

Miguel RICARDO GUERREIRO

Miguel Ricardo Guerreiro, PhD

PhD in Engineering Sciences and Technology, Biotechnology; ITQB NOVA, Nova University of Lisbon

mguerreiro@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Varela Raposo, MSc

MSc in Chemistry; IST, University of Lisbon

araposo@itqb.unl.pt

Scientists and Post-Doc Research Fellows

Tiago Faria

Tiago Faria, PhD

PhD in Biochemistry; ITQB NOVA, Nova University of Lisbon

tfaria@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Sofia Fernandes

Ana Sofia Fernandes, PhD

PhD in Pharmacy; Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lisbon

as.fernandes@itqb.unl.pt

Giacomo Domenici

Giacomo Domenici, PhD

PhD in Molecular Biology and Biomedicine; University of Basque Country/CICbioGUNE, Spain

giacomo.domenici@itqb.unl.pt

Francisca Arez

Francisca Arez, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering; MIT Portugal, ITQB NOVA, Nova University of Lisbon

farez@itqb.unl.pt

Ricardo Correia

Ricardo Correia, PhD

PhD in Bioengineering; MIT Portugal, ITQB NOVA, Nova University of Lisbon

rccorreia@itqb.unl.pt

Raquel Garcia, PhD

PhD in Molecular Biology; Oxford Brookes University

raquel.garcia@itqb.unl.pt

Hélio Tomás

Hélio Tomás, PhD

PhD in Engineering Sciences and Technology, Biotechnology; ITQB NOVA, Nova University of Lisbon

heliotomas@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Paula Terrasso, PhD

PhD in Biomedical Engineering; ITQB NOVA, Nova University of Lisbon

aterrasso@itqb.unl.pt

Lúcia dos Santos, PhD

PhD in Biology; FCUL, University of Lisbon

lucia.santos@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Cardoso, PhD

PhD in Immunology; Oslo University

ines.cardoso@itqb.unl.pt

Ximena Garate, PhD

PhD in Biological Chemistry; University of Buenos Aires

ximena.garate@itqb.unl.pt

Viviana Correia, PhD

PhD in Molecular Biosciences; FCT-NOVA, ITQB-NOVA, Nova University of Lisbon

viviana.correia@itqb.unl.pt

Laurent Cotter, PhD

PhD in Neurosciences; University of Montpellier

laurent.cotter@itqb.unl.pt

   

 Research Technicians

Ana Isabel Almeida

Ana Isabel Almeida, MSc

MSc in Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

anaa@itqb.unl.pt

Rita Santana

Rita Santana, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; University of Évora

santana@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Crespo, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; IST, University of Lisbon

ines.crespo@itqb.unl.pt

Carolina Sousa, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

carolina.sousa@itqb.unl.pt

PhD Students

Pedro Vicente

Pedro Vicente, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

"Bioprocess Engineering of a human 3D Cell Model for Primary Hyperoxaluria Type 1"

pvicente@itqb.unl.pt

Tiago Vaz

Tiago Vaz, MSc

MSc in Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

"High titer lentiviral vector producer cell lines based on replicative transposition"

tiago.vaz@itqb.unl.pt

Nuno Lopes

Nuno Lopes, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

“GLYCOInteract: defining triple negative breast cancer glycan signatures for targeting tumour-associated macrophages”

nlopes@itqb.unl.pt

Rita Fernandes

Rita Fernandes, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

“An engineering-driven approach for purification of enveloped virus-based biotherapeutics”

rita.fernandes@itqb.unl.pt

Mariana Ferreira

Mariana Ferreira, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

"Novel dual AAV vector platforms for large transgene delivery: enabling Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy gene therapies"

mariana.ferreira@itqb.unl.pt

Rodrigo Nogueira

Rodrigo Nogueira, MSc

MSc in Celular and Molecular Biology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

“Novel packaging systems with abolished cytotoxicity: development of high-titer lentiviral vector producer cells”

rodrigo.nogueira@itqb.unl.pt

Cláudia Diniz

Cláudia Diniz, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

"Bioengineering of hiPSC-cardiac derivatives for the development of a personalized regenerative biological ventricular assist device"

claudia.diniz@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Gomes

Catarina Gomes, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Engineering; Escola Superior de Tecnologia de Setúbal

"Human stem-cell based models to study innate immunity and neuroinflammation in the central nervous system"

catarina.gomes@itqb.unl.pt

Maria Margarida Rodrigues

Maria Margarida Rodrigues, MSc

MSc in Biological Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

“Bioprocess engineering of ferritin-based nanoparticles as SARS-CoV-2 vaccine candidates”

maria.rodrigues@itqb.unl.pt

Margarida Costa

Margarida Costa, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

"Bioprocess engineering of CAR-T cells and extracellular vesicles with improved clinical relevance"

margarida.costa@itqb.unl.pt

Gonçalo Trindade

Gonçalo Trindade, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry for Health; FCT NOVA, ITQB NOVA and NMS|FCM

"Defining the landscape of immunosuppressive myeloid lectins in breast cancer and their potential as therapeutic targets"

goncalo.trindade@itqb.unl.pt

Isabella Gal

Isabella Ramella Gal, MSc

MSc in Pharmaceutical Biotechnology; University of Bologna, Italy

"Immune-competent hepatic 3D cultures as preclinical tools for the development of viral vector based gene therapies"

isabella.gal@itqb.unl.pt

Filipa Moura, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

"Overcoming the challenges of recombinant Adeno-Associated Virus Production for Gene Therapy"

filipa.moura@itqb.unl.pt

Birhanu Hurisa, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; Haramaya University, Ethiopia

"Integrated production of adenovirus-like particles (ADDomer)"

birhanu.hurisa@itqb.unl.pt

Beatriz Paínho

Beatriz Painho, MSc

MSc in Biology; FCUL, University of Lisbon

"Bioengineering dual-targeting CAR-T cells to treat relapse/refractory T cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia"

beatriz.painho@itqb.unl.pt

Eunice Gonçalves, MSc

MSc in Biological Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

"Cell-based sensing systems for infectious and non-infectious diseases: a gene therapy approach"

eunice.goncalves@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Correia, MSc

MSc in Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

"Uncovering AAV-induced activation in immune competent Human hepatic 3D model"

ines.correia@itqb.unl.pt

Miguel Graça, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

"Bridging genetic engineering and transcriptomics of insect cells to enhance production of biopharmaceuticals"

miguel.graca@itqb.unl.pt

Sofia Batalha

Sofia Batalha, MSc

MSc in Molecular Biology and Genetics; FCUL, University of Lisbon

"The effect of dual HER2 blockade on anti-tumour immune cells"

sofia.batalha@itqb.unl.pt

Cláudia Paiva, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

"Improving lentiviral vector bioprocessing using an engineering approach"

claudia.paiva@itqb.unl.pt

Ana Meliciano

Ana Meliciano, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry; FCUL, University of Lisbon

"Advancing the manufacturing of extracellular vesicles derived from human induced pluripotent stem cells toward
novel cardiac regenerative medicine"

ana.meliciano@itqb.unl.pt

   

Junior Research Fellows

Joana Oliveira

Joana Oliveira, MSc

MSc in Biopharmaceutical Sciences; Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lisbon

joana.oliveira@itqb.unl.pt

Miguel Antunes, MSc

MSc in Aerospace Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

miguel.antunes@itqb.unl.pt

Cristina Rosa

Cristina Rosa, MSc

MSc in Engineering Physics; IST, University of Lisbon

cristina.rosa@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Carrondo

Inês Carrondo, MSc

MSc in Aerospace Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

ines.carrondo@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Melo, MSc

MSc in Molecular Genetics Biology; FCUL, University of Lisbon

catarina.melo@itqb.unl.pt

Sara Nascimento, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

sara.nascimento@itqb.unl.pt

Lara Inocêncio, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

lara.inocencio@itqb.unl.pt

João Jacinto, MSc

MSc in Biological Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

joao.jacinto@itqb.unl.pt

Constança Costa, MSc

MSc in Biological Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

contanca.costa@itqb.unl.pt

Mariana Antunes, MSc

MSc in Biochemistry for Health; NOVA School of Science and Technology & NOVA MEdical School, NOVA University of Lisbon

mariana.antunes@itqb.unl.pt

Afonso Ruiz, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

afonso.ruiz@itqb.unl.pt

Manuel Jacinto, MSc

MSc in Biotechnology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

manuel.jacinto@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Sá, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

ines.sa@itqb.unl.pt

Inês Saldanha, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Research, NOVA Medical School, Nova University of Lisbon

ines.saldanha@itqb.unl.pt

Catarina Costa, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Research; Faculty of Medicine, University of Coimbra

catarina.costa@itqb.unl.pt

Miguel Costa, MSc

MSc in Biomedical Research, NOVA Medical School, Nova University of Lisbon

miguel.costa@itqb.unl.pt

Master Students

Júlia Guerra, BSc

Degree in Molecular and Genetics Biology; FCUL, University of Lisbon

julia.guerra@itqb.unl.pt

Margarida Delgado, MSc

MSc in Pharmaceutical Sciences; Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Lisbon

margarida.delgado@itqb.unl.pt

Jennifer Duarte, BSc

Degree in Biochemistry; Lusófona University

jennifer.duarte@itqb.unl.pt

Marina Curto, BSc

Degree in Biology; University of Évora

marina.curto@itqb.unl.pt

Eduardo de Almeida, BSc

Degree in Cellular and Molecular Biology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

eduardo.almeida@itqb.unl.pt

Mafalda Aleixo, BSc

Degree in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

mafalda.aleixo@itqb.unl.pt

Leonor Matos, BSc

Degree in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

leonor.matos@itqb.unl.pt

Ashni Tambaclal, BSc

Degree in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

ashni.tambaclal@itqb.unl.pt

Beatriz Cardoso, BSc

Degree in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

beatriz.cardoso@itqb.unl.pt

Mariana Bettencourt, BSc

Degree in Biomedical Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

mariana.bettencourt@itqb.unl.pt

Trainees

Clara Mestre

Biological Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

clara.mestre@itqb.unl.pt

Beatriz Moital

Cell and Molecular Biology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

beatriz.moital@itqb.unl.pt

Madalena Silva

Biological Engineering; IST, University of Lisbon

madalena.silva@itqb.unl.pt

Miguel Marques

Cell and Molecular Biology; NOVA School of Science and Technology, NOVA University of Lisbon

miguel.marques@itqb.unl.pt

Document Actions