Personal tools
You are here: Home / News / Best PhD Thesis 2015

Best PhD Thesis 2015

Best Thesis Prize awarded to Cátia Nunes Soares

Oeiras, 24.06.2016

And the Best PhD Thesis Prize 2015 goes to… Cátia Nunes Soares.

The public announcement was made today by the president of the jury Cândido Pinto Ricardo, during the celebration of the ITQB NOVA Day. The award, sponsored by Fundação Jacqueline Dias de Sousa, was handed out by the Rector of Universidade NOVA, António Rendas.

Cátia Nunes Soares presented her PhD at ITQB in March 2015 with the thesis “Inhibition of SNF1-related protein kinase1 by trehalose 6-phosphate and other metabolites and the interrelation with plant growth ”. The work was developed at Plant Cell Biotechnology Lab under the supervision of Pedro Fevereiro and at Rothamsted Research (UK), with co-supervision of Matthew Paul and Anabela Bernardes da Silva (FCUL)

The award, established in 2009, aims to recognize the best PhD thesis presented at ITQB NOVA each year and is funded by Fundação Jacqueline Dias de Sousa. The selection panel includes Carlos Bandeira Duarte from Universidade de Coimbra, Mário Nuno Berberan e Santos from Universidade Técnica de Lisboa, and is chaired by Cândido Pinto Ricardo from ITQB NOVA.

Document Actions