Personal tools
You are here: Home / News / ITQB researcher distinguished by EMBO

ITQB researcher distinguished by EMBO

EMBO announces new elected members
ITQB researcher distinguished by EMBO

Cecília Arraiano

Oeiras, 15.10.08

EMBO (European Molecular Biology Organization) announced today the election of 51 new members and 8 associate members to its organisation. Among the new EMBO members is Cecília Arraiano, head of the Control of Gene Expression Laboratory. Cecilia Arraiano has been recognized for her proven excellence in research in the field of ribonucleases and RNA processing and decay.

Cecilia Arraiano graduated at Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa. After being awarded a Fulbright-Hays grant in 1983, she moved to the University of Georgia (USA) where she obtained her PhD in 1989 on the Analysis of mRNA degradation in Escherichia coli K-12. Throughout the years Cecilia Arraiano published more than 50 papers on ribonucleases and RNA metabolism in prestigious journals such as Nature and was co-editor of the first book on RNA written in Portuguese. Cecilia Arraiano became the seventh scientist in Portugal distinguished by EMBO.

Membership is a life-long honour with new members nominated and elected annually by existing members. EMBO Members represent a high-profile cross section of researchers from all fields of molecular life sciences ranging from developmental biology, genomics, molecular medicine, neuroscience and plant biology to systems biology.

The newly elected EMBO Members are active researchers, based in 13 European countries. Associate Members have research groups in Australia, Singapore and the US. This year, nine women scientists are recognised for their significant contributions to life science research. EMBO will welcome this year’s newly elected members and associate members at The EMBO Meeting to be held in Amsterdam from 29 August to 1 September 2009.

The current EMBO membership totals 1360 researchers. From the seven EMBO researchers working in Portugal, three are at ITQB: Cecilia Arraiano, Claudina Rodrigues-Pousada and Maria Arménia Carrondo.


Document Actions