Personal tools
You are here: Home / About Us / Organization / Health and Safety

Health and Safety

Safety Commitee

The ITQB’s Safety and Floor Coordination Committee is in charge of implementing standards and procedures of laboratory work and oversees that all these procedures are respected. The committee meets regularly and provides information sessions for researchers. 


Helena Matias


Margarida Oliveira

Vice Director

Nuno Monteiro
(Alexandre Maia)

First Floor Coordinator/Workshops &

Fernando Tavares
(Cristina Afonso)

Second Floor Coordinator

Manolis Matzapetakis
(Ricardo Louro)

Third Floor Coordinator

Abel Oliva
(Júlia Costa)

Fourth Floor Coordinator

Lígia Martins
(Teresa Crespo)

Fifth Floor Coordinator

Cândido Pinto Ricardo
(Nelson Saibo)

Sixth Floor Coordinator

Rita Delgado
(Margarida Archer)

Seventh Floor Coordinator

Cristina Silva Pereira
(Pedro Domingos)

ITQB I Building Coordinator

Christopher Maycock
(Rita Ventura)

Chemistry Building Coordinator

Cecília Arraiano

Ionizing Radiation Hazards

Mónica Serrano

Biological Hazards


Occupational Medicine and Health

António Cunha
(João Clemente)

Pilot Plant

João Carita


Cláudia Almeida

Lab Manager

Isabel Ribeiro


Safety Commitee Meetings

Access minutes (intranet password required)



Safety Information

(acess from within ITQB only) 

Access page with general information on safety at ITQB, including manuals and instrutions, recommendations, floor diagrams and evacuation information, as well as a collection of videos for safety training.


> For all information concerning safety at ITQB please contact Helena Matias




Occupational Healthcare

Waiting appointment of a new medical doctor

ITQB staff is assisted by an occupational health doctor who works in close relation with the institute's safety committee. Helena Santos, MD comes once a week to ITQB. To make an apointment contact with Goretti Rocha.


Document Actions