Personal tools
You are here: Home / Education / PhD Programs / PhD Thesis Prize

PhD Thesis Prize

Aiming to recognize the high quality of ITQB NOVA PhD theses, the Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica NOVA will award an annual prize to the best PhD thesis resulting from research work mainly performed at the Institute. 


The best ITQB NOVA thesis is a prize money of 1000 Euros
funded by Fundação Jacqueline Dias de Sousa.




        Selection Panel:







Professor Cândido Pinto Ricardo (Chairman)
Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica 

Professor Carlos Bandeira Duarte
Center for Neuroscience and Cell Biology
Department of Zoology, University of Coimbra

Professor Mário Nuno Berberan e Santos
Centro de Química-Física Molecular
Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade Técnica de Lisboa


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2016

Luís Carlos Santos Filipe from Molecular Simulation Lab

“Studying the structural features of peptide dendrimers using a combined computational and experimental approach”

Supervisor: António Baptista
Co-supervisor: Tamis Darbre, University of Bern, Swizerland


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2015

Cátia Nunes Soares from Plant Cell Biotechnology Lab

“Inhibition of SNF1-related protein kinase1 by trehalose 6-phosphate and other metabolites and the interrelation with plant growth”

Supervisor: Pedro Fevereiro
Co-supervisor: Matthew Paul, upRothamsted Research, UK and Anabela Bernardes da Silva, FCUL


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2014

Ana Filipa Rodrigues from Animal Cell Technology Unit

“Integrated functional genomics for improved manufacture of recombinant enveloped virus: transcriptional profiling and metabolic engineering of retrovirus producer cells”

Supervisor: Ana Sofia Coroadinha
Co-supervisor: Wei-Shou Hu, University of Minnesota (USA)


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2013

Pedro Matos Pereira from Bacterial Cell Biology Lab

“Peptidoglycan assembly machines: The Staphylococcus aureus Penicillin-Binding Proteins”

Supervisor: Mariana Gomes Pinho


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2012

Magda Atilano from Bacterial Cell Surfaces and Pathogenesis Lab

“Bacterial peptidoglycan biosynthesis and recognition by the innate immune system”

Supervisor: Sérgio Filipe


Cláudia Queiroga from the Animal Cell Technology Unit

"Disclosing Carbon Monoxide Protection in Cerebral Ischemia: Insights into the cellular mechanisms"

Supervisors: Helena Vieira and Paula Alves


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2011

Rute Matos from Control of Gene Expression Laboratory

"Functional and Structural Characterization of the RNase II-family of enzymes"

Supervisor: Cecília Arraiano
Co-supervisor: Ana Barbas


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2010

 António Roldão from the Engineering Cellular Applications Laboratory (Animal Cell Technology Unit).

"Production optimization of rotavirusl-like particles: a systems biology approach"

Supervisor: Manuel Carrondo


Best ITQB NOVA PhD thesis 2009

Ricardo Gouveia from the Glycobiology Laboratory

"The neuronal L1 cell adhesion molecule – Production, characterization and biological role"

Supervisor: Julia Costa

Document Actions